Neighbors helping neighbors since 1962


Whether you want to ride with a crew or be part of our administration, we are always looking for volunteers. Find out how to join our team!

Support Us

We are funded entirely through private donations. We do not receive any tax dollars from the City of Summit or any other government agency and we do not bill for any services.

Please help us continue our vital service.

Squad Elects New Leadership

Mon, 2016-01-04 21:38 -- John Staunton

The Summit Volunteer First Aid Squad begins 2016 with a newly reorganized Board of Trustees and Officers that include some new members as well as some familiar faces.

Mike D’Ecclessis, a volunteer for nearly 40 years who served as President in once in the 1980s and for 2 years in the early 90s returns for a 3rd tour of duty in that position.  John Buscaino is the new Vice President.  Steve Mortenson is the new Corresponding Secretary while Ken Herr and Chris Raymond will remain in their roles as Treasurer and Recording Secretary, respectively.

Kari Phair has the new title of Chief, a position formerly known as Captain that she has held several times.  John Christmann is the new Deputy Chief and will also serve as the Personnel officer.  The Squad recently changed the titles of “Captain” and “First Lieutenant” to “Chief” and “Deputy Chief” to more closely align with the names used by other public safety agencies. Training Lieutenant Jane Mahoney, Records Lieutenant Mel Harari, Equipment Lieutenant Matt Raymond and Maintenance Lieutenant Rich Raymond all remain in their positions.  Trustees for 2016 are David Bernstein, Robert Flanagan, Kyle Mahoney, George Shepherd, and Nancy Weeks.

Mayor Ellen Dickson administered the oath of office at the Squad’s Annual reorganization meeting in December.

The all volunteer First Aid Squad is always looking for new members to join its ranks. All needed training, uniforms and equipment is provided. For information, please call 908-277-9479, or Click HERE


Thsi story also appears in: